Skip to main content
Golf Gear Lab — Independent golf buying advice
Buying guide · Handheld GPS

Best Golf Handheld GPS UK 2026

A handheld GPS gives you yardages without wearing a watch, usually on a bigger screen. We compared the models worth buying in 2026; start with our three picks.

The best handheld depends on how much you want to see: just the numbers, or a full map of each hole. Then check whether the best maps need a membership, and how it attaches to your trolley or bag.

Not sure which suits you? Answer 6 quick questions in the Golf Tech Finder →

Our picks

SkyCaddie SX550
Best premiumSkyCaddie SX550

A large 5.5-inch screen and detailed, ground-verified course maps for golfers who want the clearest dedicated navigation.

Our score: 94/100 · Guide price: £350–£450
Shot Scope H50
Best valueShot Scope H50

A bright AMOLED touchscreen with hole maps, green contours and 100+ stats, with no subscription.

Our score: 88/100 · Guide price: £230–£280
Bushnell Phantom 3
Best simple distancesBushnell Phantom 3

Fast front, middle and back distances in a small magnetic unit that clips to your trolley. Almost nothing to learn.

Our score: 87/100 · Guide price: £120–£160

Check the running cost before you choose the SX550. Its free Par plan covers the basics, but the best maps need a SkyCaddie membership of £29.95–£44.95 a year. Over three years, an SX550 with a Birdie membership costs about £470 (£379.95 plus 3 × £29.95); the H50 costs about £249 with nothing more to pay.

What do you want from a handheld GPS?

Handhelds range from a simple number on your trolley to a phone-sized map. Pick the column that matches how you play.

Just the numbers

Glance and play

  • Bushnell Phantom 3 87/100 · from about £129.95. Front, middle, back and hazards, on a magnet.
See the whole hole

Maps and greens

  • Shot Scope H50 88/100 · from about £249. AMOLED, green contours, no subscription.
  • SkyCaddie SX550 94/100 · from about £379.95. Biggest screen, ground-verified maps.
GPS plus practice data

For the range too

  • Garmin Approach G82 Evidence-led assessment · about £499–£520. 5-inch GPS and a warm-up launch monitor.

Prefer it on your wrist? See the best golf GPS watches. Want the exact flag distance? See the best rangefinders.

Compare handheld GPS units side by side

Every model we recommend, cheapest first. Tap a column heading to sort. Figures come from each product’s specification table (manufacturer and retailer figures, checked 1 October 2026); “Today’s prices” shows live retailer prices.

“Not confirmed” means the maker does not publish that figure or we could not confirm it. Open the product page for the full specification, or compare any two products.

Show the side-by-side specifications
Bushnell Phantom 3Best simple handheld87/100about £129.95
Today’s prices →
40 × 40 mm touchscreen38,000+ preloaded, with automatic course recognition and hole advanceUp to 18 hours (about 4 rounds); USB-C charging in under 3 hoursNone mentioned by Bushnell; updates through the Bushnell Golf app60 × 76 × 18 mm; 78 g
Shot Scope H50Best value handheld88/100about £249
Today’s prices →
4.3-inch AMOLED touchscreen42,000+ courses, hole maps and green contour maps15+ hoursNoneNot confirmed
SkyCaddie SX550Best premium handheld94/100about £379.95
Today’s prices →
5.5-inch HD touchscreen (720 × 1440)35,000+ ground-verified courses, with IntelliGreen and Dynamic HoleVueAbout 14 hours, up to 3 roundsPar £0, Birdie £29.95, Eagle £39.95, Double Eagle £44.95; some retailers include a year of Birdie155.5 × 77 × 14 mm; about 227 g
Garmin Approach G8290/100about £499
Today’s prices →
5-inch colour touchscreen, Garmin’s largest golf handheld43,000+ preloadedUp to 25 hours GPS; up to 8 hours in radar modeOptional Garmin Golf membership adds aerial imagery and green contoursNot confirmed

The recommendations explained

Read the reasons and limitations before deciding which handheld deserves a place on your shortlist.

Read the recommendations explained
Best premium · biggest screen and maps

SkyCaddie SX550

SkyCaddie SX550

The best handheld if you want to see every hole clearly. The big screen and detailed maps are excellent, but budget for a SkyCaddie membership to get the best of them.

The 5.5-inch HD touchscreen (720 × 1440) is the largest in this guide, so hole maps, green shapes and hazards are big and sharp, which makes unfamiliar courses much easier to plan. SkyCaddie’s 35,000+ courses are ground-verified, with IntelliGreen and Dynamic HoleVue.

Battery is about 14 hours, up to three rounds. It measures 155.5 × 77 × 14 mm and weighs about 227 g, so it is phone-sized rather than pocket-sized. The free Par plan covers the basics; Birdie (£29.95), Eagle (£39.95) and Double Eagle (£44.95) a year unlock the best map features, and some retailers include a year of Birdie. It has been available from about £379.95.

Choose this if: You want the biggest, clearest screen and the most detailed maps, and you are happy to pay for a membership.

Consider another option if: You do not want an annual fee (the Shot Scope H50), or you want something pocket-sized (the Phantom 3).

Reasons to consider

  • Largest, clearest screen in this guide
  • Detailed, ground-verified maps
  • Easy to read in any light

Limitations to weigh up

  • Best features need an annual membership
  • Big to carry in a pocket
  • No published water rating

Key specifications

Screen
5.5-inch HD touchscreen (720 × 1440)
Size and weight
155.5 × 77 × 14 mm; about 227 g
Maps
35,000+ ground-verified courses; IntelliGreen and Dynamic HoleVue
Battery
About 14 hours, up to 3 rounds
Water resistance
Described as water resistant; no IP rating published
Membership (UK, a year)
Par £0, Birdie £29.95, Eagle £39.95, Double Eagle £44.95
UK price
From about £379.95

Manufacturer and retailer figures, checked September 2026.

Best value · AMOLED screen, no subscription

Shot Scope H50

Shot Scope H50

A bright colour touchscreen with hole maps, green contours and detailed stats, and no subscription. The best value if you want to see the hole without paying every year.

The 4.3-inch AMOLED touchscreen shows hole maps and green contour maps across 42,000+ courses, with front, middle and back distances and PlaysLike. It records 100+ stats, including strokes gained, from shots you enter on the device; it does not use club tags.

Battery is 15+ hours. It weighs 270 g, has a built-in cart magnet and is rated IPX7. There is no subscription. RRP is £249.99, and it has been available from about £249.

Choose this if: You want a visual hole map, green contours and stats with no ongoing cost.

Consider another option if: You want the largest screen and ground-verified maps (the SX550), or automatic shot tracking with club tags (a Shot Scope watch such as the V5).

Reasons to consider

  • Bright 4.3-inch AMOLED screen
  • Green contour maps included
  • No subscription; magnet and IPX7

Limitations to weigh up

  • Stats need manual shot entry
  • Bigger than a pocket GPS
  • Smaller screen than the SX550

Key specifications

Screen
4.3-inch AMOLED touchscreen
Maps
42,000+ courses; hole maps and green contour maps
Distances
Front, middle and back, and PlaysLike
Stats
100+ including strokes gained, from manual shot entry (no tags)
Battery
15+ hours
Subscription
None
Build
270 g; built-in cart magnet; IPX7
UK price
RRP £249.99; from about £249

Manufacturer and retailer figures, checked September 2026.

Best simple distances · clips to your trolley

Bushnell Phantom 3

Bushnell Phantom 3

The cheapest way to get reliable GPS distances. Clip it to your trolley or cart with the built-in magnet, glance at it, and play.

The 40 × 40 mm touchscreen shows front, middle and back distances, up to six hazard or layup distances per hole, and GreenView with a movable pin. It recognises the course automatically across 38,000+ preloaded courses and advances holes by itself.

It is tiny at 60 × 76 × 18 mm and 78 g, rated IPX6, and the battery lasts up to 18 hours (about four rounds), recharging by USB-C in under three hours. Bushnell mentions no subscription; updates come through the Bushnell Golf app. Bushnell also sells a Slope version, so check which one a listing is for. It has been available from about £129.95.

Choose this if: You want simple distances at the lowest price, clipped to your trolley.

Consider another option if: You want a map of each hole (the H50 or SX550), stats, or yardages on your wrist.

Reasons to consider

  • Very low price for a Bushnell GPS
  • Magnet keeps distances in view
  • Up to 18 hours of battery, USB-C

Limitations to weigh up

  • Small screen, no full hole map
  • No shot tracking or stats
  • Easy to leave on the trolley

Key specifications

Screen
40 × 40 mm touchscreen
Size and weight
60 × 76 × 18 mm; 78 g
Courses
38,000+ preloaded; automatic course recognition and hole advance
Battery
Up to 18 hours (about 4 rounds); USB-C, under 3 hours to charge
Mounting
Built-in BITE magnet
Features
Up to 6 hazard or layup distances per hole; GreenView with movable pin
Water rating
IPX6
Subscription
None mentioned; updates via the Bushnell Golf app
UK price
From about £129.95

Manufacturer and retailer figures, checked September 2026.

GPS plus a practice launch monitor · 90/100

Garmin Approach G82

Garmin Approach G82

A big-screen golf GPS that doubles as a warm-up launch monitor. Worth it if you will use both roles; otherwise a simpler handheld costs much less. We have researched it but 90/100 it.

On the course it is a 5-inch colour touchscreen, Garmin’s largest golf handheld, with 43,000+ preloaded courses. On the range, stand it behind you and its Doppler radar measures ball speed, club speed, smash factor and tempo; carry and total are estimated. New putting metrics record stroke length, tempo and consistency.

Battery is up to 25 hours of GPS, or up to 8 hours in radar mode. An optional Garmin Golf membership adds aerial imagery and green contours. It was announced in January 2026 and sells for about £499–£520. The launch monitor is for practice numbers, not full simulator golf; for that, see the Garmin R10.

Choose this if: You want a large handheld GPS and warm-up and putting data in one device.

Consider another option if: You only need distances (the Phantom 3), or you want a full launch monitor for simulator golf (the Garmin R10).

Reasons to consider

  • Large 5-inch screen
  • Warm-up launch monitor built in
  • Up to 25 hours of GPS

Limitations to weigh up

  • Costs much more than a simple handheld
  • Not a full simulator launch monitor
  • Best maps need a Garmin Golf membership

Key specifications

Screen
5-inch colour touchscreen
Courses
43,000+ preloaded
Launch monitor
Doppler radar: ball speed, club speed, smash factor, tempo; carry and total estimated
Practice modes
Target practice, tempo training, club-speed training, bag mapping
Putting
Stroke length, tempo, club and ball speed, consistency
Battery
Up to 25 hours GPS; up to 8 hours in radar mode
Subscription
Optional Garmin Golf membership for aerial imagery and green contours
UK price
About £499–£520 (announced January 2026)

Manufacturer and retailer figures, checked September 2026.

Guide prices are approximate ranges, not live retailer quotes. Where a retailer’s price is checked overnight (HotGolf and Affordable Golf), it is shown with the date. Retailer links may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. How our links work

All our handheld GPS recommendations

Compare published GGL Scores alongside screen size, battery life and the way you will carry the device.

Older models: the Garmin Approach G80 and G30 and the SkyCaddie SX400 have been replaced, so we no longer link to them. The Garmin G82 replaces the G80; see G82 vs G80.

Picks by budget

Typical UK prices for the device. Add a SkyCaddie membership if you choose the SX550 and want its best maps.

Under £200

Simple distances

For colour maps at a similar price, the Bushnell iON Elite watch is about £139.

£200–£400

Maps and greens

£400 and up

GPS plus practice

Prefer a GPS without a watch?

The G12 is another option to research alongside our main handheld recommendations.

Garmin Approach G12

Garmin Approach G12

A compact GPS option for golfers who prefer not to wear a watch. Read the review and check the exact model before ordering.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How to choose

Handheld or watch?

A handheld suits golfers who dislike wearing a watch or already wear a smartwatch. Most clip to a trolley or bag with a magnet. Compare the two.

Screen size

Bigger, brighter screens (SkyCaddie SX550, Shot Scope H50, Garmin G82) show more of the hole. Simple units like the Phantom 3 show just the numbers.

Want practice data too?

The Garmin G82 adds a warm-up launch monitor for the range. It costs more, so only choose it if you will use both.

Screen, battery and running costs

Figures are manufacturer claims; battery life depends on screen brightness and round length.

HandheldScreenBatterySize, weight and mountingSubscriptionWater rating
SkyCaddie SX5505.5-inch HD touchscreenAbout 14 h, up to 3 rounds155.5 × 77 × 14 mm; about 227 gPar free; Birdie to Double Eagle £29.95–£44.95 a yearWater resistant; no IP rating published
Shot Scope H504.3-inch AMOLED touchscreen15+ h270 g; built-in cart magnetNoneIPX7
Bushnell Phantom 340 × 40 mm touchscreenUp to 18 h (about 4 rounds); USB-C60 × 76 × 18 mm; 78 g; BITE magnetNone mentionedIPX6
Garmin Approach G825-inch colour touchscreenUp to 25 h GPS; 8 h radarNot stated on our pageOptional Garmin Golf for aerial imagery and green contoursNot stated on our page

Stuck between two?

Questions buyers ask

What is the best golf handheld GPS in 2026?

The SkyCaddie SX550 is our best premium handheld (94/100). The Shot Scope H50 (88/100) is the best value, and the Bushnell Phantom 3 (87/100) is the simplest and cheapest.

Do handheld golf GPS devices need a subscription?

The Shot Scope H50 and Bushnell Phantom 3 do not. The SkyCaddie SX550 has a free Par plan, but its best maps need a Birdie, Eagle or Double Eagle membership (£29.95–£44.95 a year). The Garmin G82’s aerial imagery and green contours need an optional Garmin Golf membership.

What is the cheapest good golf GPS?

The Bushnell Phantom 3, from about £130, gives fast front, middle and back distances and clips to a trolley with its magnet. For colour maps on your wrist for a similar price, see the Bushnell iON Elite watch.

Is a handheld GPS better than a watch?

Neither is better; it depends on preference. A handheld has a bigger screen and nothing to wear; a watch is always with you. See GPS watch or handheld.

Can the Garmin G82 replace a launch monitor?

Only for practice numbers. It measures ball speed, club speed, smash factor and tempo on the range, but carry and total are estimates and it is not built for simulator golf. For that, see the best launch monitors.

Is there a talking (voice) GPS I can clip to my cap?

Voice GPS units, such as the GolfBuddy Voice and Voice Caddie Voice ranges, read out front, middle and back distances. We have not assessed them yet and there is no approved UK retailer link for them at present. The simplest handheld we recommend is the Bushnell Phantom 3, a small magnetic unit with front, middle and back on screen. Phantom 3 prices →

Will it have courses abroad, and do maps update?

Yes. The handhelds we list carry 35,000–42,000+ courses worldwide (see the spec table) and update through the maker’s app or software. SkyCaddie’s best ground-verified maps need a membership; Shot Scope and Bushnell updates are free.

Which handheld is easiest to read with poor eyesight?

The biggest screens are the SkyCaddie SX550 (5.5-inch) and Shot Scope H50 (4.3-inch AMOLED). If you only want three big numbers, the Bushnell Phantom 3 is simplest to use.

Can I clip a handheld GPS to my trolley?

Yes. The Bushnell Phantom 3 has a built-in magnet that sticks to a trolley frame or buggy. Larger units such as the Shot Scope H50 and SkyCaddie SX550 come with a clip or can use a trolley mount. Check the product page for which mount is in the box.

Handheld GPS terms explained

Front, middle and back
Distances to the front edge, centre and back edge of the green. Every handheld here shows them.
Hole map
A picture of the whole hole with hazards and doglegs, so you can plan a tee shot on a course you do not know.
Green contours
Shading or arrows showing how the green slopes. Useful for approach shots and putts.
Movable pin (GreenView)
Drag the pin to today’s position on the green for a closer distance to the flag.
PlaysLike
Distance adjusted for elevation, so an uphill shot shows as longer than it measures.
Ground-verified maps
SkyCaddie maps checked by walking the course, rather than drawn only from satellite images.
Strokes gained
Compares each shot with a benchmark to show where you gain or lose shots.
Cart magnet (BITE)
A built-in magnet that holds the GPS on a trolley or cart so the numbers are always in view.
AMOLED
A bright, high-contrast screen type that makes maps vivid and easy to read.
IP rating (IPX6, IPX7)
Water resistance. IPX6 handles heavy rain; IPX7 a brief dunk.

How we choose

Every handheld gets a GGL Score out of 100, weighted towards what matters when you are deciding whether to buy. We then compare it with the alternatives at the same price.

FactorWeightWhat we look at for handheld GPS
Performance30%Course guidance: distances, hazards, hole maps and green detail
Value for money25%Price against the alternatives, plus any membership needed for the best maps
Ease of use15%Screen readability in sunlight, touch or buttons, mounting
Features15%Stats, PlaysLike, green contours and practice modes
Reliability10%Battery life, water rating and build
Support and ecosystem5%Course updates, app quality and UK retailer availability

95–100: exceptional; 90–94: excellent; 85–89: strong choices with clearer compromises; 80–84: basic or specialist options. Our research-based score weighs features, usability, ownership costs and value. Read each review for the reasons behind the rating.

Testing status: the scores in this guide are research-based. They draw on manufacturer specifications, UK retailer checks and published reviews, which we name and link on each product page. Each product page says whether Golf Gear Lab has used the device itself.

How we score products · How we review · Editorial policy.

Compare your shortlist

Phantom 3 vs H50 · G82 vs G6

Choose with confidence

Handheld decision guides

Understand the format and trade-offs first, then compare the handhelds that fit.